Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Local League of Women Voters elects new board, officers


The League of Women Voters of Southern New Mexico (LWVSNM) has elected some new and some holdover members to its board of directors.

Kathy Brook and Eileen VanWie were both re-elected to serve another two-year term as the organization’s co-presidents. Both are retired from higher education.

Laura Castille, a local attorney who is the executive director of the New Mexico State University Office of Institutional Equity, was elected to a one-year term as vice president.

Mary Flynn will serve a two-year term as league treasurer. Flynn is a relative newcomer to Las Cruces from Chico, California, where she taught math and served as mayor and a city council member.

Cindy Murrell was elected to a two-year term as director of membership, and Erika Graf-Webster was elected to a two-year term as director of youth engagement.

Marjorie Burr was elected to a one-year term as chairwoman of the local league’s Nominating Committee, and Priscilla Parrish was elected to a one-year term as a Nominating Committee member.

On April 25, two Las Crucens were elected to statewide positions during the league’s state convention: Brook as state program director and Johnnie Aldrich as a state Nominating Committee member. Aldrich serves as the local league’s secretary. VanWie also serves as a state board member.

For more information at the league, email lwvsnm@gmail.com