Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Optimist Club names essay contest winners


Optimist Club of Las Cruces has named its 2022 essay contest winners. At far left is Optimist Club of Las Cruces essay contest chair Warren Noland, with Club President Len Hampton at far right. Between Noland and Hampton are, contest winners Ethan Dye and Mathew Erwin of Desert Springs Christian Academy and Alivia Villanueva of Mesilla Valley Leadership Academy. Alivia's essay received first place and was entered in the New Mexico/West Texas district essay contest. The winner will be awarded a $2,500 scholarship. Each local winner received a cash award and a medallion. This year’s contest theme was “How Does an Optimistic Mindset Change My Tomorrow.”